Dozing and Driving Illegal in New Jersey
October 31, 2003
Filed under Trailer News
Under a new law, known as Maggie’s Law on New Jersey’s books,
driving while drowsy will make you a criminal. This new law makes it a
crime punishable with 10 years in prison and a $100,000 fine.
The law is named for a 20-year-old college student killed in a
1997 accident, by the driver of a van who had fallen asleep. The law,
the first of its kind in the nation, is aimed at an estimated 51 percent
of motorists who are said to be drowsy drivers.