Trailer Life Magazine Open Roads Forum: Folding Trailers: If this is legit...
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Folding Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Folding Trailers

 > If this is legit...

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Vapor_Trails

Yucaipa, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/29/2004

View Profile


Posted: 08/25/08 08:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

...It's the deal of the year. I have no affiliation. I just saw it while surfing. 2007 Jayco Pup


68 Me & DW
93 DD
03 DD
06 F150 Screw 6.5' Bed, 4x4, 5.4, 3.73
04 Tahoe 23RB-GL
Honda EU2000 Parallel Cables
"I hope you like Guinness, Sir. I find it a refreshing substitute for...food." Col. Jack O'Neill, Stargate SG-1.

Bonnie E

South Jersey Pines

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2004

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/25/08 08:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

somebody is going to get a good deal.


2004 Jayco 25e traded in
2007 31RQS Outback Sydney maiden voyage GBIV
2005 3/4 ton... 8.1 Sub..."THE BEAST"

Assateague Island 2004 Survivors
ASSATEAGUE SURVIVORS 2005


bondebond

Central Kansas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2008

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/25/08 09:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bonnie E wrote:

somebody is going to get a good deal.


No kidding, considering I paid $1,800 more for 2006 (that's the Model 1007 floorplan) earlier this summer.

I'm just about to buy it, drive out and pick it up and relist it!


Myself, The Boss, and two wanna-be Bosses
2006 Jayco 1007
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who can count, and those who can't.


mike4947

N. Syracuse, NY

Moderator

Joined: 08/26/2002

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/25/08 10:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Wait till he gets a 1099 for the MSRP of the trailer. If he's in the 27% bracket the tax will be almost the $2700 he's asking...LOL
As a side note over half the prizes awarded on game shows are not accepted by the winners when they find out the amount of taxes they own if they accept the prizes.


blog.rv.net Your daily guide to the Open Road

Subscribe to the daily digest

Want to sell some of your gear? -
Free Classified Listings on RV.Net


They say you learn by your mistakes, in that case I must be a genius.

Bumpyroad

Virginia

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2005

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/26/08 05:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mike4947 wrote:

Wait till he gets a 1099 for the MSRP of the trailer. If he's in the 27% bracket the tax will be almost the $2700 he's asking...LOL
As a side note over half the prizes awarded on game shows are not accepted by the winners when they find out the amount of taxes they own if they accept the prizes.


yep, my friend "won" a race car simulator session delivered to his home. he was all excited about it, then I pointed out how much it would be costing him for his "free" session and he declined.
but do they show full MSRP on 1099? or price you sell it for which is it's true value?
bumpy
bumpy





mike4947

N. Syracuse, NY

Moderator

Joined: 08/26/2002

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/26/08 06:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Full MSRP. That's the price that you get on the 1099. The price is the "value" between the giver and the receiver. What the receiver sells it for is a non issue.
We tried several times in audits and tax court to argue that the "cost basis" should be what we could buy the item for on the retail market. Never won.
Where we did win was if the receiver got "the cash equivalent" which was usually the wholesale price and the 1099 had the full MSRP. We argued successfully that the "prize" was the monetary value; which is what the receiver actually got, not the actual prize value.
TANSTAAFL

On edit using the Jayco price estimator, with air conditioning the price would be about $9500 without the second propane cylinder an a couple of other small options mentioned.

* This post was edited 08/26/08 06:38am by mike4947 *

javaseuf

California's Gold Coast

Senior Member

Joined: 03/30/2005

View Profile


Posted: 08/26/08 10:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It is a scam. The ad was also placed in other parts of the country.
I e-mailed the poster asking to make arrangements to come and purchase the PUP but they never responded. I flagged the ad.


Steve
2007 Springdale 291RKL
2003 F150 King Ranch
2001 Dodge Van w/Wheelchair Ramp
1991 Palomino Mustang PUP
Eureka Timberline Tent
Yamaha IF2400isc
Yamaha EF3000iSEBC
"Politically Incorrect And Proud Of It"


javaseuf

California's Gold Coast

Senior Member

Joined: 03/30/2005

View Profile


Posted: 08/26/08 04:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Up-Date............

I did hear back from the "seller" and here is his response:

Thank you for your email. I still have it for sale but before i answer to any of your questions i want to inform you that i can't handle this tranasction the old fashioned way because i travel a lot with business and can't do this by my self. However, i will use Craig's Trader to handle th transaction for me. I know alot of people that don`t know about Craigs Trader so if you are still interested and don`t know about this service let me know and i`ll fill you in with the rest of the details.

Thank you

Marvin

Typical scam where the seller is un-available to personally meet with the buyer.
BTW, I also looked into another PUP located in Fresno and I recieved the exact same response, word-for-word.

The first clue was that the trailer was even still available at this great price, days after the ad was placed.

Vapor_Trails

Yucaipa, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/29/2004

View Profile


Posted: 08/26/08 05:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Like the title says, "If this is legit..." obviously it's not. At least they are using proper English. And the 'won it in a raffle' thing is new.

Roman wants to go camping.

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 10/14/2004

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 08/26/08 09:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That's comical.


Don't forget,
These are the good old days.
2005 Viking 2485 ST
1998 GMC Safari.
Husky Excursion Brake Controller.
Photos & Stuff

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Folding Trailers

 > If this is legit...


Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Folding Trailers


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2008 Trailer Life Magazine | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS