Florida County Bans Use of Handheld Cell Phones

Florida’s Miami-Dade County has voted to ban the use of handheld cell phones while driving.
The south Florida county of 2.2 million people would require motorists who are caught
talking on their cell phones, as of October 2002, to pay a fine or take a traffic safety
course. The fine would be $250 for the first offense and $500 for subsequent offenses.
Using hands-free devices such as headsets or earphones, or pulling the vehicle over to make
a call, would still be legal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here